Connect with us


WNBA Terminates Old Playoff Format

Moves To New One In 2022. More Games To Be Added.

(East Los Angeles, CA) November 23, 2021 [FromThe Editor’s Desk]: In anticipation of the new 2022 WNBA Basketball season that begins next May, the Board of Governors has approved a new post-season format.


*Postseason to Consist of (3) Rounds Featuring A Best-of [3-5-5] Series Format

*Top (8) Teams to Qualify for Bracket-Style Postseason

(NEW YORK), November 18, 2021 – The WNBA Board of Governors approved changes to the League’s playoff format and postseason seeding, effective with the 2022 season, the WNBA announced today.  The reconfigured postseason structure will include three rounds of series-play using a “Best-of 3-5-5” format.

Beginning with the WNBA’s 26th season, the (8) teams with the highest winning percentages over a (36) game schedule, regardless of conference, will qualify for the playoffs and be seeded based on their record. All (8) playoff teams will participate in 1st-round, bracket-style play consisting of (4) “Best-of-Three” series.

In one bracket, 1st-round play will place the No. 1 seed facing the No. 8 seed and the No. 4 seed versus the No. 5 seed in a “Best-of-Three” series, with the winners advancing to a “Best-of-Five” semifinals series against one another. In the other bracket, the No. 3 seed will face the No. 6 seed and the No. 2 seed will meet the No. 7 seed, with the winners moving on to face one another in the other “Best-of-Five” semifinals series.

The winners of the semifinals series will then meet in the WNBA Finals, which also will be a “Best-of-Five” series, to determine the WNBA champion.

Additional elements regarding the playoff structure are as follows:

  • The number of playoff rounds shifts from (4) to (3) and no teams will receive a “Bye” to start the post-season. Teams will not be reseeded following the 1st round.
  • The planned change for the 1st-round series games will include a (2-1) format in which the higher seed will host Games 1 and 2 and the lower seed will host Game 3 if necessary.
  • The new format will add (8) potential games to the playoff footprint.
  • The semifinals and WNBA Finals will each remain unchanged as “Best-of-Five” series and follow the same (2-2-1) format whereby the higher seed hosts Games 1, 2 and 5, and the lower-seeded team will host Games 3 and 4 in their respective series.

“We have been evaluating different playoff formats over the past 12 months, and the new playoff format announced today will enable fans to engage with all of the league’s best teams and top stars right from the start of the postseason with all eight championship contenders immediately involved in exciting, first-round action,” said WNBA Commissioner, Cathy Engelbert.

She went on to add, “Following significant discussions withour Competition Committee and a Playoff subcommittee we formed last year, it was clear that while the prior format’s single-elimination games created a win-and-advance level of excitement to the start of the postseason, the new “Best-of-Three” series format will provide added opportunities to create and showcase rivalries with all playoff-eligible teams participating.”

The prior playoff format, adopted in 2016 consisted of (4)  rounds using a (1-1-5-5) format, with two single elimination rounds and the No. 1 and 2 seeds receiving Double-Byes” into the semifinals.  The new playoff format announced last week will provide the Top (8) teams with a consistent start to their playoff runs.         ###

Click to comment

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply


Click here for new Webinar


In-Studio Shows


Click here for new Webinar


More in Professional